Louisiana Entertains

Living in Texas, I have visisted many parts of Louisiana throughout the years and I love the friendly people and their food.  Over the last few years, I’ve been cooking a Cajun dinner on Mardi Gras.  In the past, I’ve made gumbo, jambalaya, and king’s cake, of course!  This year, I decided to invite my parents over and the four of us enjoyed red beans ‘n’ rice, cornbread and a French custard pie.

Louisiana Entertains is the official cookbook of the 1984 Louisiana World Exposition.  It was copyrighted in 1978 and 1983 by the Rapides Symphony Guild of Alexandria, Louisiana.  This cookbook is unusual because instead of the cookbook being divided into categories such as appetizers, side dishes, main dishes, etc., it is divided into menus.   These menus come from a series of parties that were hosted by Central Louisianans to support the Rapides Symphony Orchestra, over a three-year period.  I chose a recipe from a “New Orleans Fare” menu.  The menu included Red Beans ‘n’ Rice, Green Salad, French Bread, Praline Sundaes and Coffee, and the wine suggested was either a Zinfandel or Chianti.    The red beans ‘n’ rice turned out delicious and my family really enjoyed the meal.  I added Tabasco to mine just to give it an extra kick.  Below is the recipe for Red Beans ‘n’ Rice and as usual the recipe refects the changed that I made.   I’m sorry, but I didn’t snap a picture of this dish.

Red Beans ‘n’ Rice

1 pound red beans, rinsed and drained

1 smoked ham hock

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic

3 stalks celery, chopped

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon salt

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 pound smoked sausage

Water

The night before cooking, soak beans in water.  Soak at least 8 hours before cooking.  Drain and rinse beans.  In a large stockpot, add beans, ham hock, onions, celery, pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper.  Add enough water to cover beans.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 4 to 5 hours.   Add sliced smoked sausage and cook additional 30 minutes.  Serve over hot rice and with Tabasco, if desired.

4 Comments

Filed under cookbook

4 responses to “Louisiana Entertains

  1. Shirley

    Kim…this is perfect, been looking for a good Red Beans & Rice Recipe….John shot two does a few weeks ago and I have a freezer full of deer meat. We have a lot of deer sausage since they kinda screwed up our order and I have been trying to come up with different menu items. I will be making this week! If we were in the same city I would share my deer sausage abundance.

    • The deer sausage would taste great in the red beans! I wish we did live in the same city, not only would we have so much fun, but I’d take you up on taking some of your deer sausage. Vince and I love deer sausage! Mary gave us some elk steaks, which we plan on trying soon.

  2. I would love to buy another copy of this cookbook. New or used in good condition would be fine. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

