Patsy’s Cookbook

 Happy belated Valentine’s Day to you!  I hope your day was as fantastic as mine.  I decided at the last minute that I would make a special meal for my hubby for Valentine’s.  He asked me, the night before, if I wanted him to take me out, but I said no.  I hate fighting crowds, so we decided to go out later this week.  Anyways, I was craving Italian food, so I searched my cookbooks looking for Italian cookbooks and my Patsy’s Cookbook seemed to jump out at me.  How romantic would it be to eat at Patsy’s, in New York City, on Valentine’s night???  If any of you know me personally, you know that my one big dream is to go to New York City around Christmas time!  I’d like to see the Statue of Liberty, shop in Little Italy, ice skate at Rockefeller Center, catch a ride in the Cash Cab, visit the site of The World Trade Center, and of course… eat at Patsy’s!  Well, I decided a meal planned from the Patsy’s cookbook would be very romantic.

After spending a good thirty minutes drooling over the recipes in the cookbook, I finally decided on one…. “Frank’s Veal Cutlets Milanese”.  It’s known that Frank Sintara used to eat at Patsy’s all the time, as well as many other famous people.  Pasty’s has been around at least 60 years.  The cookbook was written by Sal J. Scognamillo in 2002, and the foreword was written by Nancy Sinatra.  The cookbook is very interesting  to read.  I love a cookbook that includes some pictures and history. 

Anyways… after picking the recipe, I went to the store to buy the veal cutlets and wouldn’t you know, they were out of veal cutlets.  Since I had no back up plan for dinner, I ended up buying ground veal and making patties, which I then followed the recipe to bread and cook them.  They turned out fine!    As usual, I made a few changes to the recipe and the recipe printed below reflect my changes.  I served the Veal Milanese with garlic and olive oil fettucine and green bean.  I paired the dinner with one of our favorite Texas wines, the Llano Cabernet Sauvignon.

Frank's Veal Cutlets Milanese

Frank’s Veal Cutlet Milanese

1 pound veal cutlets

2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

1 cup of dried bread crumbs (I used crumbs purchased from Maceo’s in Galveston, TX)

1 cup plus 1 tablespoon olive oil, divided

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

1 cup flour

2 eggs, beaten

1 lemon

Pound cutlets to about 1/4″ thick.  (In my case, form patties, but not too thin, as they will fall apart.  Thus if using ground veal, you will have to cook a little longer.)  Using three separate bowls, place the flour in one, the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese in the second, and the eggs and 1 tablespoon olive oil in the third.  The olive oil in the eggs will help the breading to stay on the meat while frying.  Season the cutlets with salt and pepper.  Dredge each cutlet into the flour, then egg mixture, then bread crumbs.  Heavily coat the cutlets in the bread crumbs, patting in the palm of your hand to get the crumbs to adhere.  Set cutlets aside.  Heat 1 cup olive oil in deep skillet.  Add more olive oil if necessary, so that the bottom of you skillet is covered.  Heat oil to 350F.  Saute the cutlets for about 2 minutes.  While cutlets are cooking, squeeze a little lemon juice over the top of each cutlet.  Then, turn the cutlets over and cook another minute or two.  Drain cooked cutlets on paper towels.  Sprinkle tops with more Parmesan if desired.   Enjoy!

Here are some pictures of my Valentine’s Day table.  I didn’t have a red tablecloth, so I used a black and white plaid tablecloth, black place mats and red napkins.  The china is our wedding china, which is Noritake Whitecliff Platinum.  The silverware is just my everyday Oneida, which my Maw Maw helped me order when I was in high school from Betty Crocker.  The pattern is called Plantation and I believe the still make it under a different name. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cookbook

Leave a Reply

