Simply Simpatico – A Taste of New Mexico

This past weekend, I picked up three bags of freshly roasted Hatch chilies when I did my weekly grocery shopping at H.E.B..  I always look forward to this time of year to buy a good stash, and freeze them in small bags.  I thought I had missed the last weekend, but luckily for me, they extended their chili weekend one more week.   So, once I packaged my chilies for freezing, I saved out a bag and decided to find a recipe that called for Hatch chilies.  I decided to make a  New Mexico Green Chili Stew  (Caldillo)  from a cookbook titled, “Simply Simpatico – A Taste of New Mexico”.  This cookbook was published by the Junior League of Albuquerque in 1981. 

While this recipe piqued my interest, I thought it was strange that no seasonings were listed, so I tweaked the recipe to suit my family’s taste.  Boy was it spicy, but it had an awesome flavor!  It was so good that Vince told me not to change a thing.  If you don’t like spicy food, or you can’t eat spicy food, please seed both your chilies and jalapenos and cut back on the other seasoning, as desired.  The recipe printed below reflects the changes I made to the recipe.

New Mexican Green Chili Stew (Caldillo)

New Mexican Green Chili Stew (Caldillo)

2 pounds pork tenderloin, cut into 2-3 inch chunks

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 small yellow onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 (15 oz) can Hunt’s diced tomatoes, do not drain

3 tomatillos, husk removed, diced

8 roasted Hatch chilies (with seeds), diced

2 fresh jalapeno peppers (with seeds), diced

3 cups water

2 teaspoons chicken bouillon granules

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cumin

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

4-5 medium-sized potatoes, peeled and cubed

 

Preheat oven to 325F.  In a large oven-proof pot with lid, brown pieces of pork in olive oil, over medium heat, until pork starts to turn white on all sides.  Add garlic and onions and saute 2-3 minutes.  Add canned tomatoes, tomatillos, Hatch chilies, and jalapenos.  Cover and bake for 20 minutes.   After 20 minutes,remove pot from oven.  In a large bowl, combine water and remaining seasonings.  Stir to combine and add to pot.  Also add potatoes to the pot.  Stir, put the lid back on, and continue baking for 1 hour.    Serve hot with warm flour tortillas. 

 

3 Comments

Filed under cookbook

3 responses to “Simply Simpatico – A Taste of New Mexico

  1. Gretchen

    I’ll have to try this! I currently have a couple of bags of Hatch chiles in my freezer as well.

  2. I’m cookbook chair for the Junior League of Albuquerque, great post!!!!!

  3. Shirley STEW

    Can’t wait to try this, the way I make mine is different but I like to something n3w and this sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

