The Sopranos Family Cookbook

The Sopranos Family Cookbook as compiled by Artie Bucco and written by Allen Rucker, is another cookbook that was given to me by my cousin, Jason.  I’ve never seen the series because we don’t have HBO, but I’d love to watch the series on DVD someday.  Jason gave me this cookbook because it’s filled with wonderful looking Italian dishes.  I’ve made recipes from this book before, but decided to try a new recipe for my blog and because Vince’s sister Shirley and her daughter, Katie, came into town for Vincent’s graduation party and spent the night with us and I needed to make breakfast.  So, the next morning, I decided to make Uova in Pugatorio (Eggs in Purgatory) which is a popular dish in Southern Italy.  I’m sorry, but I forgot to take a picture of the eggs, but they turned out really well. 

Uova in Purgatorio (Eggs in Purgatory)

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cups canned tomato puree

4 fresh basil leaves, torn into pieces

Salt and pepper to taste

8 large eggs

1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

In a medium non-stick skillet, sauté garlic in olive oil for about a minute, being careful not to let if burn.  Add the tomato puree, basil, salt and pepper.  Simmer for about 15 minutes.  Break eggs into a small cup, one at a time.  Make a well in the tomato sauce with the back of a spoon and slide the egg into the sauce.  Continue with the remaining eggs.  Cover and cook for about 3 to 4 minutes or until eggs are done to taste.

1 Comment

Filed under cookbook

One response to “The Sopranos Family Cookbook

  1. Sounds just like the Israeli shakshuka. Very yummy dish! We have our with hot sauce, but I’m going to try your purgatorial dish with cheese next time, thanks!

Leave a Reply

