Cosmo Kitchen Capers

The Houston Cosmopolitan Club Present Cosmo Kitchen Capers was compiled by the Houston Cosmopolitan Club in 1988.  The club was founded in 1984 and was extremely successful with its social events.  In 1987 they decided to help the organ transplant community by establishing their own housing project which consisted of three, two-bedroom apartments that were paid for and furnished by the club.  Patients awaiting an organ transplants must sometimes wait six months to a year for a transplant and this club provides the housing for these patients. 

I chose a recipe called “Sherried Beef”, which calls for stew meat.  The original recipe called for a can of cream of mushroom soup, but my family and I don’t care for the taste of canned mushroom soup so I substituted a can of cream of celery soup instead.  This meal was very good.  I loved the fact that I just mixed it all up and put it in the oven to cook for a few hours.  The meal couldn’t have been easier to make and tasted good enough to serve to guests.  The meat was very tender and had a wonderful flavor.  I’d definitely make this recipe again.  I served this over white rice and a side of yellow squash. 

Sherried Beef

Sherried Beef

3 pounds stew meat, cut into 1-inch pieces

¾ cup dry sherry

1 onion, diced

1 can cream of celery soup

1 cup beef broth

8 oz. fresh mushrooms, sliced

Mix all ingredients together in a Dutch oven.  Cover and bake at 325F for 2 ½ to 3 hours.  Serve over white rice or egg noodles.

2 Comments

Filed under cookbook

2 responses to “Cosmo Kitchen Capers

  1. This looks absolutely divine, except for one thing — I don’t mix dairy with meat, so that can of cream of celery soup has to go. I’m going to make this for dinner tonight, using my own cream of leek soup that I’ve got stashed in the freezer, and it’s non-dairy to boot! Thanks for posting this, it’s given me some good ideas!

Leave a Reply

