Texas Cookin’ – Lone Star Style

Texas Cookin’ – Lone Star Style was compiled by the telephone Pioneers of America Lone Star Chapter 22.  The Telephone Pioneers of America was founded in 1891 and is composed of men and women in the United States and Canada who have served fifteen or more years in the telephone industry.  This is one of my favorite cookbooks in my collection, as I have made several recipes from this book and they always turn out well. Two of my favorite recipes can be found posted at Recipezaar.com and they are Southwestern Baked Spaghetti and Cheesy Potato Soup

Tonight, I had chicken in the refrigerator, so I need a recipe that called for chicken.  I chose “Baked Chicken a la Moo Moo” for several reasons.  One, it was a chicken recipe.  Two, it looked simple and fast and tonight that was really important to me because I didn’t want to be in the kitchen any longer than I needed to be.  And three, I liked the name… Chicken a la Moo Moo!  I know that is a strange reason for choosing a recipe, but it is actually one of my reasons.  Anyways, the chicken turned out well.  It had a great flavor, but I over cooked it just a bit so it wasn’t as moist as I had hoped.  If I make this again I will use either bone-in chicken breast or cut the cooking time by about 10-15 minutes. 

 

Chicken a la Moo Moo

Baked Chicken a la Moo Moo

4 skinless chicken breasts

Greek seasoning, to taste

Salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

2 tablespoons butter

½ cup milk

Rinse chicken and pat dry.  Place chicken in a shallow baking dish, sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Sprinkle chicken with Greek seasoning, salt and pepper.  Place ½ tablespoon of butter on top of each piece of chicken.  Add milk to baking dish.  Cover with foil and bake at 350F for 1 hour.  Uncover and bake for 15 minutes longer or until done.

1 Comment

Filed under cookbook

One response to “Texas Cookin’ – Lone Star Style

  1. Debbie Griffin

    Is this cookbook available for purchase anywhere?

Leave a Reply

