The Star Wars Cookbook

The Star Wars Cookbook – Wookiee Cookies and Other Galactic Recipes by Robin Davis was given to me one Christmas from my cousin Jason.  Jason understands my love for cookbooks and has given me several unusual cookbooks over the years.  He also never hesitates to be my taste tester, if need be, and that is just one of the reasons I love him. 

Last night, my husband and I were craving something sweet so I decided to try the recipe for “Jawa Jive Milkshakes”.  In this book there are four variations including Chocolate-Banana, Super Strawberry, Vanilla and Peanut Butter and Double Chocolate.  I chose the Vanilla and Peanut Butter.  I had a slight interruption while making the shakes.  Dottie, my six year old Golden Retriever and huge peanut butter freak, wouldn’t leave me to my shake making until I put some peanut butter in her Kong.  She sat by my side and stared at me with her big, brown, sad eyes, while I measured out the peanut butter.  She had such a pathetic expression that I couldn’t help but stop and give her a little peanut butter, even though she’s supposed to be on a diet.  Once Dottie was satisfied and busy chewing her Kong in the living room, I was left alone in the kitchen to make my shakes.  For the most part, I followed the recipe, but I used “No Sugar Added Blue Bell Country Vanilla” ice cream and I omitted the peanut butter chips.  Vince and I both felt the shakes were too sweet and too peanut buttery.  Is “peanut buttery” a word?  Well, I guess it is now.  If I were to make these again, I would use half the amount of peanut butter.  These shakes might be good with hot melted chocolate on top with some whipped cream.  Nevertheless, we drank them before a photo could be taken.  The recipe is posted below but be warned it is extremely sweet, so sample at your own risk.

Jawa Jive Vanilla and Peanut Butter Milkshakes

1 cup vanilla ice cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup milk

¼ cup cream peanut butter

½ cup peanut butter chips

Place all ingredients in blender; blend until smooth.  Serves 2.

Leave a comment

Filed under cookbook

Leave a Reply

