The Blue Denim Gourmet

The Blue Denim Gourmet is my most recently purchased cookbook. A few weeks ago, I was out shopping with my mom and we stopped to look inside Half Price Bookstore.  I love searching the shelves of my local Half Price Bookstore.  I always find something, whether it’s a cookbook or other.  Anyways, I have to admit that I don’t buy cookbooks near as often as I used to, I’ve almost stopped completely, but I couldn’t pass up this book, as it had so many great looking recipes.  Why have I almost stopped buying cookbooks you ask?  Well for one, I don’t have enough space to store them anymore, and two, for the last eight years I’ve have been finding most of my new recipes on a website called: http://www.recipezaar.com/.  I’ve been a member there for years and you can find me their in the member list as “Kim D.”.  I love the community of cooks and the tried-and-true, treasured recipes posted by its members.  I’ve even met several members in person.  It’s a wonderful site and well worth checking out if you haven’t already.

Let’s get back to The Blue Denim Gourmet.  The cookbook was published by the Junior League of Odessa, Texas.  Junior League cookbooks always seem to have the best recipes.  My copy is the sixth printing from 1983.  I was seriously craving something sweet and narrowed down my decision of recipes to two choices:  a Praline Apple Pie or a Coffee Cake.  Decisions, decisions!  I hate decisions! Well, after pondering my choices, I decided on the Coffee Cake and I’m so glad I did.  I’m not saying that the Praline Apple Pie would not have been delicious, but the Coffee Cake was so deliciously moist.  This cake would be great for breakfast with a cup of coffee, as well as a delectable dessert to serve to guests.  The coffee cake would also be a great dessert to take on a picnic or to a pot-luck dinner at church.  This recipe is definitely worth baking!  The only change I made to the recipe was that I omitted the cardamom, because I didn’t have any in my spice cabinet.  The original recipe says to divide the batter into 3 round cake pans, but I used a 9X13-inch pan and it worked just fine.  Also, the recipe says this cake freezes well, but we wouldn’t know about that, it was gone in no time! 

Coffee Cake

Cake:

1 Duncan Hines Golden Butter Cake Mix

4 eggs

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

¼ cup vegetable oil

1 cup sour cream

1 large package instant vanilla pudding

Topping:

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup chopped pecans

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 pinch cardamom

Butter a 9X13-inch baking pan.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine cake mix, eggs, butter, vegetable oil, sour cream and vanilla pudding and blend until smooth; set aside.  In a separate bowl, combine all of the topping ingredients.  Sprinkle about 1/3 of the topping mixture on to the bottom of the prepared pan.  Pour the cake batter over top.  Then sprinkle the remaining 2/3 topping mixture over top.  Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until cake tests done with a toothpick.

4 Comments

Filed under cookbook, Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Blue Denim Gourmet

  1. Kit and ScottyJ

    We tried on Mother’s Day – May 9, 2010. What a delicious cake! It is so sugary, naughty fabulous. I put it in our homemade cookbook, a binder holding family favorites. Thanks a bunch for choosing such a winning recipe!

  2. Karen Short

    Love this cookbook – I had the original edition from when I lived in Odessa, but my copy d had disappeared. At the current time, I’m unemployed and don’t have the money to replace it, so I’m going to hope I run across a used copy someday. However, I’m looking for a recipe for left over roast beef, and there was a recipe in the book, I think it was called Roast and Rice. Is there a possibility that you could post (or email me) the recipe. By the way, there’s also a recipe in there for a rice salad made with Italian salad dressing that is killer. There are a lot of great recipes in that book.

    • QH

      Hi Karen,
      Not sure if anyone sent you this, but here is the Roast and Rice Casserole recipe and it sounds good!

      1-2 cups leftover cold beef or pork roast
      1/2 cup raw rice
      1/2 small onion
      1/4 cup oleo
      1 small can tomatoes, diced?
      salt and pepper to taste

      Dice roast, cover with water and simmer for 30 minutes. Brown diced onion and rice in oleo. Add can of tomatoes, salt and pepper. Put all together in baking dish and bake for 1.5 hours. Stir occasionally and add more liquid if necessary.

      from Mrs. J. Robert Wasson

      Sounds good, but I’d update a few things, from water to low salt broth, double the rice, and use a Texas sweet onion for the onion. Possibly italian seasoned diced tomatoes…Just a thought.
      Hope this gets to you!!
      QH

  3. QH

    You can find used ones, for less than the brand new copies, on http://www.abebooks.com or call your local half price stores to see if they have any used copies in stock. Great cookbook! I’m from Odessa, my cousin sent it to me in 86, after I’d moved away and I use this cookbook with two others, more than any cookbooks I own.
    Finding a replacement will be worth it!

Leave a Reply

