The Stubb’s Bar-B-Q Cookbook

Why can’t I make fajitas?  I’ve attempted fajitas numerous times and they always, always, always come out tough.  The recipes I’ve tried always call for “skirt steak”.  I’m wondering if restaurants use a different cut of meat other than skirt steak?  At any rate, I made several recipes from The Stubb’s Bar-B-Q Cookbook.  I made “Smokey Tex-Mex Fajitas”, “Stubb’s Restaurant Pintos”, and “Stubb’s Buttermilk Pie”. 

Needless to say, I was very disappointed in the fajitas, but it was not because of their flavor, it was that they were really tough.  The recipe calls for picked jalapeno juice and I really felt this ingredient gave the fajitas a great taste. 

The beans turned out pretty well, though I felt they needed a little more flavor.  I really liked the method used for cooking the pintos.  With this recipe, you don’t have to soak the beans over night.  You cover them with an extra inch of water and bring to a boil.  Once they boil, you turn them down to medium and simmer for about 30-40 minutes without stirring.  Then stir, add 2 more cups of water and continue simmering without stirring for another 30-40 minutes.  You repeat these steps until the beans are soft, but still have a bit of texture to them.  I did add a little chicken bouillon and cilantro, but it still needed something else in my opinion. 

I made several changes to the Stubb’s Buttermilk Pie.  For one, I subbed Splenda for sugar to make the pie diabetic friendly for my hubby.  The pie was delicious.  Here is the pie recipe, according to the changes that I made:

Stubb’s Buttermilk Pie (adapted to our taste)

1 frozen deep-dish pie shell, thawed

1 1/3 cups granulated sugar

½ cp butter, softened

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

6 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 ½ cups buttermilk

6 large eggs, beaten

Place pie shell on counter to thaw.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Place the frozen pie shell on top of a metal baking sheet.  Cream together sugar and butter.  Add vanilla and flour, mixing well.  Add buttermilk and beaten eggs and mix until well combined.  Prick the thawed pie shell with a fork to keep it from bubbling up.  Pour the pie batter into the shell.  Bake for 50-55 minutes or until pie puffs slightly and turns a nice golden brown on top.  If the crust looks like it is browning too quickly, you can cover it the last 10-15 minutes with a pie shield or some foil to keep it from burning.  Cool for at least 30 minutes before serving warm. If not serving right away, cover and store pie in the refrigerator.

1 Comment

Filed under cookbook

One response to “The Stubb’s Bar-B-Q Cookbook

  1. Kit and ScottyJ

    After 24 hours of “Relay for Life” this weekend, we figured we earned the right to indulge in a little Buttermilk Pie. Neither one of us had ever tried a Buttermilk Pie before, so we were very intrigued. The results were unanimous. The pie was extremely fabulous! Very yummy! BTW, I used a refrigerated pie crust as that was what I had in the house. It turned out just fine. We did cover the pie with foil the last 7- 10 minutes as suggested. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

